Start Global Navigation

  1. Home
  2. About RCAST
  3. Research
  4. Industry-Academia-Government Collaboration
  5. International Collaboration

Start Main Contents

e-mail Magazine : RCAST NAVI

RCAST NAVI 2016/07


  2016 JULY

[Press Release]
  Researchers Create Means to Monitor Anthropogenic Global Warming in Real

  Associate Professor Yu Kosaka (Climate Science Research, RCAST) and
  Professor Shang-Ping Xie (Scripps Institution of Oceanography at the
  University of California San Diego) simulated in a computer model, for
  the first time, the realistic evolution of the global mean surface
  temperature since 1900. They identified the tropical Pacific natural
  variability as an essential "pacemaker" of the staircase-like global
  warming. The results of this research, "The tropical Pacific as a key
  pacemaker of the variable rates of global warming," was published in the
  journal Nature Geoscience.

  Press Release

  Single microwave-photon detector using an artificial Λ-type three-level

  Research Scientist Kunihiro Inomata of the RIKEN CEMS, Professor
  Yasunobu Nakamura of RCAST (Quantum Information Physics and Engineering)
  and international team have demonstrated an efficient and practical
  single microwave-photon detector based on the deterministic switching in
  an artificial Λ-type three-level system implemented using the dressed
  states of a driven superconducting quantum circuit. The detector can be
  exploited for various applications in quantum sensing, quantum
  communication and quantum information processing. The results of this
  research was published in the Nature Communications.

  Nature Communications

* Professor Hisashi Nakamura (Climate Science Research)'s project
  supported under the Belmont Forum International Opportunities Fund.

* Associate Professor Satoshi Ikeuchi (Islamic Political Thought) was
  awarded the 12th Nakasone Yasuhiro Award of Excellence in July 1st.

* Research Associate Hiroshi Watanabe (Theoretical chemistry) won an
  excellent presentation award at the 19th Annual Meeting of the
  Theoretical Chemical Society of Japan.

* Keiuke Kawashima (Ishikita Lab.) won a Photosynthesis seminat 2016,
  Mimuro award.


Start Site Information

page top

Copyright (c) RCAST, The University of Tokyo